Cambridge Encyclopedia » Cambridge Encyclopedia Vol. 67

Shelley Winters - Academy Awards and nominations, Filmography, TV work, Stage Work

films role actress

Film actress, born in St Louis, Missouri, USA. She worked as a shop assistant and chorus girl, and by the early 1940s began to gain small parts on Broadway. Her film debut was in What A Woman (1943), and she appeared in many films before her first major role in A Double Life (1947). Her role opposite Montgomery Clift in A Place in the Sun earned her an Oscar nomination, and she won Best Supporting Actress Oscars for The Diary of Anne Frank (1959) and A Patch of Blue (1965). Later films include Lolita (1962), Alfie (1966), The Poseidon Adventure (1972), S.O.B. (1981), Stepping Out (1991), and Portrait of a Lady (1996). Her prolific career included over 100 films, and many plays and television appearances. She wrote two volumes of memoirs, Shelley, Also Known as Shirley (1980) and Shelley II, The Middle of My Century (1989).

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or