Cambridge Encyclopedia » Cambridge Encyclopedia Vol. 67

Seven against Thebes - Translations

adrastus led amphiarus champions

In Greek legend, seven champions who attacked Thebes to deprive Eteocles of his kingship. They were led by his brother Polynices; the other six were Tydeus, Adrastus (or Eteoklos), Capaneus, Hippomedon, Parthenopaeus, and Amphiarus. They were defeated by another seven champions at the seven gates of Thebes; all were killed in battle, except for Amphiarus, whom the Earth swallowed alive, and Adrastus, who escaped. Later the sons of the Seven, the Epigoni, led by Adrastus, succeeded in destroying the city.

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or