Cambridge Encyclopedia » Cambridge Encyclopedia Vol. 53

Neil Jordan - Novels

include irish

Film maker and writer, born in Co Sligo, W Ireland. He studied at University College, Dublin, and helped form the Irish Writers Co-operative (1974). His first collection of stories, Night in Tunisia (1976), was followed by the acclaimed novels The Past (1980) and The Dream of a Beast (1983). Later novels include Sunrise With Sea Monster (1994) and Shade (2004). He worked as a script consultant on Excalibur (1981), made his directorial debut with the thriller Angel (1982), and has boldly emphasized the fairy-tale and fantasy elements of such challenging works as The Company of Wolves (1984) and Mona Lisa (1986). He then turned his hand to comedy with High Spirits (1988) and We're No Angels (1989). Later films include his study of the legendary Irish patriot Michael Collins (1996), The Butcher Boy (1998), a screen adaptation of the novel by Graham Greene The End of the Affair (1999), and Breakfast on Pluto (2005).

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or