Cambridge Encyclopedia » Cambridge Encyclopedia Vol. 5

Andrew Motion - Biography, Publications

include queen life university

Poet, biographer, and novelist, born in London, UK. He studied at Oxford, and became an English lecturer at Hull University (1976–80), and later professor of creative writing at the University of East Anglia (1995– ). His works include The Lamberts (1986, Somerset Maugham Award), a biography of Philip Larkin A Writer's Life (1993, Whitbread), a biography of Keats (1997), and Wainewright the Poisoner (2000). His collections of poetry include Love in a Life (1991), Selected Poems 1976-1997 (1998), and Public Property (2002). He has also published novels, including The Invention of Dr Cake (2003). A memoir, In the Blood, appeared in 2006. That year he collaborated with Peter Maxwell Davies, Master of the Queen's Musick, in the composition of an anthem, ‘The Golden Rule’, to celebrate the 80th birthday of Queen Elizabeth II. He succeeded Ted Hughes as poet laureate in 1999.

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or