Cambridge Encyclopedia » Cambridge Encyclopedia Vol. 5

Andean Community of Nations (CAN) - Relationship with other organizations, Organization, Secretaries-General, Free flow of people

trade withdrew

An organization modelled on the European Union, with four member countries: Bolivia, Colombia, Ecuador, and Peru (Venezuela withdrew in 2006), all members of the Latin-American Free Trade Association. It was previously known as the Andean Pact (1969–96). Chile, a founding member, withdrew in 1976. Its aims are to facilitate development of the member states through economic and social co-operation. Various subsidiary bodies co-ordinate policy on such matters as commerce, industry, monetary exchange, financial planning, and legislation. Trade between the groups has more than doubled since its foundation.

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or