Cambridge Encyclopedia » Cambridge Encyclopedia Vol. 5

America's Cup - America's Cup Challengers and Defenders, Deed of Gift, In popular media

won race zealand trophy

Sailing's most famous race, held approximately every four years. The trophy was originally called the One Hundred Guinea Cup, and was donated by the Royal Yacht Squadron for a race around the Isle of Wight, S England, UK in 1851. It was renamed the America's Cup after the schooner America won the race six years later. The New York Yacht Club offered the cup as a challenge trophy. Between 1870 and 1983 it remained in US ownership until the successful challenge of Australia II. The USA won it back in 1987, and then successfully held off a challenge from New Zealand in 1988. New Zealand won the cup in 1995 and defeated an Italian challenge in 2000. A team based in Switzerland won the 2003 event.

User Comments

Your email address will be altered so spam harvesting bots can't read it easily.
Hide my email completely instead?

Cancel or